Federal appellate judge, 2 Arizona groups honored with Pastor awards for leadership, public service

ASU’s Congressman Ed Pastor Center for Politics and Public Service bestowed its highest honor on the chief judge of the U.S. 9th Circuit Court of Appeals recently at a ceremony that also marked the debut of a new award honoring public service organizations.

Mary H. Murguia, a member of the 9th Circuit Court since 2010 who has served as its chief judge since 2021, received the Congressman Ed Pastor Public Servant Leadership Award April 22 on the Downtown Phoenix campus.

ASU grad student wins Innovation Award for sustainable semiconductor coating process

Thu Thao Nguyen, an Arizona State University PhD student working with School of Molecular Sciences Associate Professor Ryan Trovitch, has developed a catalyst that provides a sustainable and efficient method to produce semiconductor coatings.

Because semiconductors are used in a wide range of electronics, her manganese-based catalyst has not only earned her the Innovation Award from the School of Molecular Sciences, but it has also garnered interest from government agencies and manufacturing corporations.

ASU grad attributes success to scholarship funding

Editor's note: This story is part of a series of profiles of notable spring 2022 graduates.

Alexander Almeida will graduate summa cum laude this spring from Barrett, The Honors College at Arizona State University with degrees in economics and mathematics. As an outstanding member of the Sun Devil community, he has had many opportunities to learn, grow and serve those in need.

2 ASU faculty members elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Arizona State University professors Anne Feldhaus and Carlos Vélez-Ibáñez are among those newly elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the oldest learned societies in the United States. Others elected this year include author Salman Rushdie, biochemist Katalin Karikó, actress Glenn Close, musician Rhiannon Giddens, The New York Times critic Wesley Morris and astronaut Bernard A. Harris.

ASU Women and Philanthropy celebrates 20 years of making an impact

In 2002, a small group of women leaders who were passionate about Arizona State University, and the community it serves, set out to make a difference.

Julie Ann Wrigley, Sybil Francis and Angela Cesal were founding leaders of ASU Women and Philanthropy, an organization established to increase university engagement and give women what has become a powerful outlet for collaboration and community impact.