Student life

8 students from across the country contribute to sustainability research at ASU

Faculty in Arizona State University's School of Molecular Sciences welcomed first-year students, sophomores and juniors to the Tempe campus this summer for a 10-week opportunity to perform sustainable chemistry and catalysis research, as part of the National Science Foundation’s Research Experiences for Undergraduates program.

The program provides students from primarily liberal arts and community colleges with opportunities to conduct research at some of the country’s leading research institutions.

ASU School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences staff earn top honors

Joelle Park and Jennie Burel, both graduate program coordinators in ASU's School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences, were recently recognized with notable awards.

Park was honored with the Michelle Howe Staff Award for Outstanding Service, the top award for staff within the school. Burel was named Outstanding New Staff Member by the Graduate College.

Driven to discover: Research prowess, community service earn ASU grad Fulbright Scholarship

If in future years Danika Kartchner’s name shows up in the news under headlines heralding technological breakthroughs achieved by advances in chemical, materials or energy engineering, Arul Mozhy Varman won’t be surprised.

Kartchner is self-motivated and willing to put in the work to overcome challenges, and has a genuine passion to continuously learn and contribute to the development of green technologies that could help bring about a more sustainable world.

2 ASU students awarded Udall Scholarship

The Lorraine W. Frank Office of National Scholarships Advisement (ONSA) has announced that two Arizona State University students, Katie Pascavis and Dylan Bia, have been awarded the Udall Undergraduate Scholarship, a major federal fellowship for college sophomores and juniors who demonstrate leadership, public service and commitment to issues related to Native American nations or to the environment.

ASU student Nicole Kaiser has also been named an honorable mention.

Actuarial science program shines brightly during 2022 Charles Wexler Awards

Arizona State University student Charlotte Cliatt is the recipient of the 2022 Charles Wexler Mathematics Prize, the highest honor a mathematics undergraduate can receive. She is graduating this month with a Bachelor of Science in actuarial science and plans to return to ASU in the fall to complete her master’s degree as part of the university's 4+1 program.

When she found out she would be honored as the recipient of the Charles Wexler Mathematics Prize, Cliatt was at a loss for words.

ASU confers degrees upon more than 1,300 Watts College graduates at spring convocation

Festive shouts from families and friends reverberated throughout Desert Financial Arena on May 10 as Arizona State University conferred degrees from the Watts College of Public Service and Community Solutions upon more than 1,300 graduates at the college’s spring 2022 convocation.

The college celebrated the conferring of 814 bachelor’s degrees, 490 master’s degrees and 11 doctoral degrees during the convocation on ASU’s Tempe campus.