Home / Roster of Boards, Committees and Councils / General Studies Council

General Studies Council

Michael Mokwa - General Studies Council Chair

This is a decision-making council for the continuing implementation and development of the comprehensive University General Studies Program of courses required of all undergraduate students. The council, which is advisory to the university provost, prepares and maintains the general studies course listings published in the General Catalog and the semester Schedule of Classes for use by students, advisors and faculty. These publications contain general studies requirements and approved program courses. The council is appointed by and responsible to the university provost. The student member is appointed by the president on the recommendation of the vice president for university and student initiatives.

Go to General Studies page


Cultural Diversity Subcommittee:

  • Melissa Dengler (CAA) – co-chair
  • Anna Zischkau (CAA) – co-chair
  • Annapurna Ganesh, MCCCD Representative

Global Awareness Subcommittee:

  • Jada Ach
  • Natalie Heywood
  • Megan Todd

Historical Awareness Subcommittee:

  • David Corlett 
  • Evan Berry
  • Matt Simonton - chair

Humanities, Arts and Design Subcommittee:

  • Bertha Manninen – chair
  • Peter Schmidt
  • Michelle Saint
  • Mina Suk

Literacy and Critical Inquiry Subcommittee:

  • Brent Scholar – chair
  • Patricia Webb
  • Emily Mertz

Mathematical Studies Subcommittee:

  • Jose Lobo
  • Michelle Mancenido
  • Michelle Zandieh

Natural Sciences Subcommittee:

  • Steve Semken – chair
  • Tamiko Azuma 
  • Darryl Morrell  
  • Ashli Morgan

Social-Behavioral Sciences Subcommittee:

  • Michael Mokwa – chair
  • Tanaya Dempsey
  • Marie Wallace

Community College representative(s):

  • Annapurna Ganesh, MCCCD Representative

 Council of Academic Advisors Representative(s):

  • Melissa Dengler (CAA) – co-chair
  • Anna Zischkau (CAA) – co-chair

Student member:

  • to be determined

Ex officio:

  • senate president