Animal Users Advisory Committee

Tsafrir Mor, Life Sciences/Biodesign

The role of the Animal Users Advisory Committee (AUAC) is to enhance communication between the investigators and the three branches of the ASU Animal Use Program -- the Department of Animal Care and Technologies (DACT), the University Veterinarian, and the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC).  The committee will advise the senior vice president for the Office of Knowledge Enterprise Development (OKED).  The mission of AUAC is to help develop an animal use program that effectively and efficiently provides client services to the investigators and thus maximizes research potential.  The committee is appointed by and responsible to the associate vice president of the Office of Knowledge Enterprise Development who serves as the institutional official.

  • Yung Chang, Life Sciences/Biodesign
  • Stephen Helms Tillery, Biological & Health Systems Engineering
  • Bertram Jacobs, Life Sciences/Biodesign
  • Miles Orchinik, Life Sciences
  • M. Foster Olive, Psychology


  • Karen Kibler, Biodesign (IACUC Chair)
  • Dale DeNardo, Research Integrity & Assurance (DACT Director/Attending Veterinarian)

Ex officio:

  • Tamara Deuser, Associate Vice President for Research (institutional official)
  • Debra Murphy, Director, Office of Research Integrity and Assurance