Office of the University Provost

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee

Dale DeNardo, D.V.M., School of Life Sciences, 2014 (Interim Attending Veterinarian)

The committee is advisory to the senior vice president for the Office of Knowledge Enterprise Development (OKED) on all animal programs, facilities, and procedures. The committee assures that the humane care and use of animals are in accordance with federal laws by reviewing proposals for all teaching and research projects involving animal use (prior to the initiation of teaching and research activity). The committee is appointed by and is responsible to the director of Research Infrastructure and Facilities who serves as the institutional official.

  • Charles Arntzen, School of Life Sciences/Biodesign, 2014
  • Karen Kibler, Biodesign/Environmental Health and Safety, 2014
  • Carol Johnston, College of Nursing & Health Innovation, 2014
  • Federico Sanabria, Psychology, 2014
  • Tol Chesko, Community Member, 2014 
  • Dianna Hubbard, ASU Health Services, 2014
  • Kevin McGraw, School of Life Sciences, 2014
  • Rayna Gonzales, UA College of Medicine, 2014
  • Brent Vernon, School of Biological Health Systems Engineering, 2014


  • Zoe Browning, DVM, Clinical Veterinarian, Department of Animal Care and Technologies, 2014


  • Bruce Hooper, University Risk Management
  • David Gillum, Environmental Health and Safety
  • Debra Murphy, Office of Research Integrity and Assurance 
  • Gerald DaRosa, Office of General Counsel
  • Jo Knatz, Physician, ASU Health Services

Ex officio:

  • Tamar Deuser, Associate Vice President, Institutional Official