Office of the University Provost

Ombudspersons Committee

Paul Karoly, University Ombudsperson and Chair of the Committee, 480/965-5404

While all faculty and staff within the university community seek to facilitate matters, the following individuals have been designated to serve as ombudspersons (impartial fact-finders and problem-solvers). They have no power to reverse or change decisions but with conciliation skills help to expedite the process.  Faculty, staff and students may bring their concerns to the ombudsperson designated to assist them (see below), regardless of college or campus.

The university ombudsperson is appointed by the president.  The university ombudsperson chairs the Ombudspersons Committee and provides an annual report to the president.  The university provost appoints all other ombudspersons, who serve as a committee of the whole in forming the Ombudsperson Committee.  The Ombudspersons Committee is directed by ACD 509-01 University Ombudsperson Committee Guidelines.  Relevant links are ACD 509-02 Grievance Policies and Procedures for Faculty, ACD 509-03 Grievance Policies and Procedures for Academic Professionals, and P20 Procedures for Resolving Complaints of Unlawful Discrimination.

Ombudspersons for Academic/Student Affairs:

  • Kaylen Cons, Student Affairs, 480/965-5302
  • Pattie Farmer Lengel, Director of Academic Services, Liberal Arts & Sciences, 480/965-6506

Ombudspersons for Academic Professionals:

  • Dick Filley, Engineering, 480/965-0903

Ombudspersons for Staff Personnel:

  • Michelle Johnson, ASU Gammage, 480/965-5062

Ombudspersons for Faculty:

     Downtown Phoenix campus

  • Kevin Ellsworth, School of Letters & Sciences, 480/727-7090
  • Edwin Gonzalez-Santin, Public Programs, 602/496-0101
  • Beatrice Kastenbaum, Nursing & Health Innovation, 602/496-1408

     Polytechnic campus:

  • Narciso Macia, Technology & Innovation, 480/727-1528
  • Jean Stutz, Technology & Innovation , 480/727-1234

     Tempe campus:

  • Paul Karoly, Liberal Arts & Sciences, 480/965-5404
  • Barzin Mobasher, Engineering, 480/965-0141
  • Ronald Rutowski, Liberal Arts & Sciences, 480/965-4369
  • Tamara Underiner, Design & the Arts, 480/965-7323

     West campus:

  • Duku Anokye, New College of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, 602/543-6020

     Appointed by University Senate:

  • Larry Olson, College of Technology and Innovation, 480/727-1499

Ex officio:  the presidents of the Classified Staff Council and Committee; the president of Associated Students; the presiding officer of the University Academic Council.