Office of the University Provost

Public Safety Advisory Committee - Tempe campus

Alonzo Jones, Chair
Leon Igras, Secretary

The Public Safety Advisory Committee (PSAC) serves in an advisory and consultative role and is responsible to the executive vice president, treasurer, and CFO. The mission of the PSAC is to make recommendations to assist the ASU Police Department (ASU PD) to be responsive to the needs of the campuses and local communities and to provide the university administration with a vehicle to receive regular input on issues surrounding crime abatement, law enforcement, public safety, and emergency preparedness. The PSAC receives comments and suggestions from the public at large, facilitates communication, provides advice, reviews complaints against the ASU PD or its staff, and makes recommendations accordingly to the executive vice president, treasurer, and CFO and/or the ASU Chief of Police. Employee and local community representatives are appointed by the executive vice president, treasurer, and CFO and student representatives are appointed by ASASU with the approval of the executive vice president, treasurer, and CFO.

Voting Members:
Alonzo Jones
Chair/PSAC Chair
Campus Environment Team
William Orr
ASU Police
Ronald Hicks
Assistant Dean
Student Life
Polly Pinney
Executive Director
Dr. Phillip Mizzi Associate Professor
WPC Economics
Weston Aviles
Undergraduate Student Government 
Non-Voting Members:
John Pickens
Chief of Police
ASU Police
Phyllis Jones
Disability Resources
Kendra Hunter
Res Life Operations
Leon Igras
Director/PSAC Secretary
Environmental Health & Safety


To contact PSAC-Tempe campus, send an email to: