Student Media Advisory Board

Kristin Gilger, Associate Dean, School of Journalism & Mass Communication

Members of the board include the dean of the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication or a representative, and the senior vice president for Educational Outreach and Student Services or a representative. Two journalism faculty members will serve on the board, as well as three professionals in journalism, media, or business.

Two students, not otherwise affiliated with Student Media, serve on the board (one graduate and one undergraduate).  Ex officio or non-voting members of the board include the director of Student Media and the current State Press student leadership (executive editor, editor-in-chief, multimedia editor, and magazine editor).

  • Tom Blodgett, The Arizona Republic
  • Adam Kress, Ubiquity Public Relations
  • Jason Manning, Student Media
  • Tim McGuire, School of Journalism & Mass Communication
  • Safali Patel-Evans, Educational Outreach & Student Services
  • Jacqueline Petchel, School of Journalism & Mass Communication
  • Darren Urban, Arizona Cardinals

Student members:

  • Steve Elliott, graduate student
  • Julia Shumway, Editor-in-Chief (ex officio)
  • Danielle Grobmeier, Executive Editor (ex officio)
  • Sean Logan, Multimedia Editor (ex officio)
  • Mackenzie McCreary, Magazine Editor (ex officio)