Office of the University Provost

University Hearing Board

Gregory Castle, Chair, Tempe campus

The board is a hearing and appellate board for alleged student violations of the Student Code of Conduct. It recommends appropriate sanctions that are advisory and subject to the approval of the president. The board is appointed by and responsible to the senior vice president for Educational Outreach and Student Initiatives. Appointments are for a two-year period. Student members are appointed by the president on the recommendation of the senior vice president for Educational Outreach and Student Services.

 Tempe campus:

  • Stewart Adams, Public Safety
  • Gary Bitter, Education
  • Gregory Castle, Arts & Sciences
  • Kevin Ellsworth, Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Doug Ewing, Campus Recreation
  • Patricia Feldman, Education
  • George Karady, Engineering
  • Lara Klinkner, Greek Life
  • Katheryn Lehman, Liberal Arts & Sciences
  • Joe Lockard, English
  • Stuart Low, Business
  • Arnold Maltz, Supply Chain Management
  • Jeanette Mueller-Alexander, Libraries
  • Paul Scowen, Earth & Space Exploration
  • Jill Stamm, Educational Leadership & Innovation
  • Julie Tharp, Libraries
  • Anna Wales, W. P. Carey School of Business
  • Lance Ward, Mathematics
  • Elizabeth Wong, Languages & Literature

Student members:

  • Julian Allen
  • Christian Buttermore
  • Bruce Frye
  • Kira Golay
  • Raylun Golay
  • Alexa Kirkpatrick
  • April Morgan
  • Sharang Ranjan
  • Christian Vazquez

Downtown campus:

  • Craig Allen, Journalism & Mass Communication
  • Olufunmilayo Amobi, Division of Teacher Prep/West
  • Dora Ayala, DPC Enrollment Services
  • Lynn Carpenter, Education Leadership & Innovation
  • Michael Casavantes, Journalism & Mass Communication
  • Jack Gilbert, CONHI Academic Affairs UG
  • Marie Griffin, School of Criminology & Criminal Justice
  • Ida Malian, Division of Teacher Preparation/West
  • Emilia Martinez-Brawley, School of Social Work
  • Ryan Melendez, School of Letters & Sciences
  • Dana Newell, College of Public Programs
  • Travis Pratt, School of Criminology & Criminal Justice
  • Dominique Roe-Sepowitz, School of Social Work
  • Judy Sayles, CONHI Academic Affairs UG
  • Gordon Shockley, Community Resources/Development
  • Susan Stillwell, CONHI Deans Office Support
  • Elaine Sweet, University College Office Dean
  • Barbara White, CONHI Executive Dean


  • Emily Erwin 

Polytechnic campus:

  • Wadell Blackwell, Student Affairs
  • Jennifer Boshes, School of Letters & Sciences
  • Joseph Herkert, School of Letters & Sciences
  • Patricia Murphy, School of Letters & Sciences
  • Carmen Newland, Division of Teacher Prep/Poly
  • Bruce Oberstein, CTI Applied Sciences & Math
  • Bradley Rogers, CTI Department of Engineering Technology
  • Bert Valenzuela, UTOP University Common Computing


  • Jason Flora

West campus:

  • Lawrence Carlson, Financial & Support System
  • Audrey Dumouchel-Jones, Human Resources
  • Darryl Hattenhauer, Humanities, Arts & Cultural Studies
  • Barbara Tinsley, Social & Behavioral Sciences


  • tbd