



Home / Roster of Boards, Committees and Councils / Institutional Biosafety Committee

Institutional Biosafety Committee

List of Committees			
Policy Governing Open Meeting	S		
Committee for Campus Inclusion			

Chair:

Bertram Jacobs, Life Sciences/Biodesign Michael Caplan, Biological & Health Systems Engineering (Vice Chair)

The committee is advisory to the senior vice president for the Office of Knowledge Enterprise Development (OKED) on policies and procedures relating to the use of infectious micro-organisms in research and teaching; the handling of infectious waste disposal; and the certification of university compliance with the National Institutes of Health "Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant or Synthetic Nucleic Acid Molecules" for all projects involving recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecules and/or gene splicing techniques. The committee is responsible to the senior vice president for OKED and is appointed by the operations director of the Office of Knowledge Enterprise Deveopment who serves as the institutional official.

- Donna Pearcy, Risk and Emergency Management
- David Gillum, Environmental Health & Safety
- Hugh Mason, Life Sciences/Biodesign
- Valerie Stout, Life Sciences
- Mitch Magee, Biodesign

Off-campus members:

- Allen Jensen (community member)
- Linda Getsinger, Arizona Department of Health Services (community member)

Alternate members:

• Irene Mendoza, Environmental Health & Safety (community member)

Nonvoting members:

- Benjamin Mitsuda, Office of General Counsel
- Leon Igras, Environmental Health & Safety
- Dale DeNardo, Animal Care Program (attending veterinarian)

Ex officio:

• Debra Murphy, Knowledge Enterprise Development (institutional official)



