





Home / Roster of Boards, Committees and Councils / General Studies Council

## **General Studies Council**

## Committees

List of Committees

Policy Governing Open Meetings

Committee for Campus Inclusion

## Chair:

Alison Essary

This is a decision-making council for the continuing implementation and development of the comprehensive University General Studies Program of courses required of all undergraduate students. The council, which is advisory to the university provost, prepares and maintains the general studies course listings published in the General Catalog and the semester Schedule of Classes for use by students, advisors and faculty. These publications contain general studies requirements and approved program courses. The council is appointed by and responsible to the university provost. The student member is appointed by the president on the recommendation of the vice president for university and student initiatives.

Go to General Studies page

Cultural Diversity Subcommittee:

- Alexandra Aragon (2017)
- Deepak Chhabra (2019)
- Wendy Hultsman\* (2018)

Global Awareness Subcommittee:

- Charlotte Armbruster\* (sabbatical spring 2017) (2018)
- Helene Ossipov\* (2018)
- Kristen Parrish (2019)
- Deborah Preach (2019)

Historical Awareness Subcommittee:

- Jason Bruner (2019)
- Julie Holston\* (ongoing)
- Stefan Stantchev (2018)

Humanities, Arts and Design Subcommittee:

- Bertha Manninen (2017)
- Janice Pittsley\* (2018)
- Frances Matera

Literacy and Critical Inquiry Subcommittee:

- Jessica Early\* (2019)
- Hilde Hoogenboom (2019)
- Bradley Ryner

Mathematical Studies Subcommittee:

- Michelle Zandieh (2017)
- Caroline Harrison\* (2018)
- Stephen Wirkus (2019)

Natural Sciences Subcommittee:

- Heather Bateman (2019)
- Tamiko Azuma\* (2018)
- Darryl Morrell (2019)

Social-Behavioral Sciences Subcommittee:

- Sean Hawkeswood (2017)
- Katherine Antonucci (ongoing)
- Michael Mokwa\* (2016)

Community College representatives:

• Julie Holston, MCCCD Representative

Council of Academic Advisors Representative(s):

- Alexandra Aragon (Cultural Diversity Subcommittee)
- Sean Hawkeswood (Social-Behavioral Sciences Subcommittee)

Student member:

• to be determined

Ex officio:

• senate president

Office of the University Provost	
Arizona State University is a top ranked research university in the gro	eater Phoenix metropolitan area.
Contact Us	
Academics	<b>~</b>
Faculty and Staff	<b>~</b>
Initiatives	-
About	
About	
	ASU is #1 in the U.S. for Innovation
Copyright & Trademark	
Accessibility	
Privacy	
,	

Jobs

Emergency

Contact ASU