

#### **University Senate**

Home / Committees / Personnel Committee

# University Senate Personnel Committee

A	Academic Professional Grievance Committee
(	Committee on Academic Freedom and Tenure
(	Governance Grievance Committee
(	Grievance Clearinghouse Committee
Se	nate Standing Committees
(	Committee on Committees
(	Curriculum and Academic Programs Committee
E	Executive Committee
F	Personnel Committee
F	Research and Creative Activities Committee
5	Student-Faculty Policy Committee
Į	University Services and Facilities Committee
Se	nate University Committees
L	Library Liaison Committee
Ор	en Access Task Force
Со	nstitution and Bylaws Review Task Force: 2016-2017
Re	view of University Committees Ad-Hoc Committee: 2016-2017

# Purpose and functions

To serve in a policy-forming and advising capacity in the study, clarification, and formulation of policies and procedures affecting

faculty and academic professionals as specified in the constitution, including but not limited to:

- university programs for faculty development in research and training
- faculty promotion and tenure review policies and practices
- faculty employment policies and practices including hiring and affirmative action
- salary and compensation review policies
- grievance policy and procedures
- sabbatical or other leaves of absence
- retirement and health care policies.

## **Membership Guidelines**

- elected: 12 senators elected by the senate, including five from the Tempe campus and two each from the West,
  Polytechnic, and Downtown Phoenix campuses, and one additional member that must be an academic professional with full-time multi-year, probationary, or continuing appointment status. Senators' votes will only be counted toward nominees from their own campus
- ex officio nonvoting members: the university president, the provost of the university, and the chair of UAC or their designees
- the term of the elected members shall be two years. One-half of the elected members shall be replaced each year.

#### Roster 2016-17

#### Chair:

• Michael Mokwa, Marketing, Tempe campus

#### Members:

- Katherine O'Flaherty, Barrett, The Honors College, Downtown Phoenix campus, 2018
- Aaron Fellmeth, Law, Downtown Phoenix campus, 2018
- Hugh Barnaby, Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering, Tempe campus, 2017
- Thomas Seager, Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment, Tempe campus, 2017
- Dave Wells, Bachelor of Interdisciplinary Studies, Tempe campus 2017
- Alisia Tran, Counseling and Counseling Psychology, Tempe campus 2018
- Aviral Shrivastava, Computing, Informatics and Decisions Systems Engineering, Tempe campus 2018
- Amy Shinabarger, Interdisciplinary Humanities and Communication, Polytechnic campus, 2017
- TBA, Polytechnic campus
- TBA, West Campus
- TBA, West campus
- Tara Mospan, Ross Blakely Law Library, Academic Professional, 2018

### Ex officio non-voting members:

- University President
- University Provost
- Chair of the UAC



Contact Us			
	ASU is #1 in the U.S. for Innovation		
Copyright & Trademark			
Accessibility			
Privacy			
Jobs			
Emergency			
Contact ASU			