Out of focus image of three people talking


Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee


Karen Kibler, Biodesign

The committee is directly responsible for oversight of all animal programs, facilities, and procedures. The committee assures the humane care and use of animals in accordance with all pertinent laws and regulations by reviewing proposals for all university activities involving animals (prior to the initiation of teaching and research activity). The committee is appointed by and is responsible to the Vice President of Research for Knowledge Enterprise (KE), who serves as the Institutional Official.

  • Dale DeNardo, Animal Care Program and Life Sciences (Attending Veterinarian)
  • Carol Johnston, Nutrition and Health Promotion
  • Clive Wynne, Psychology
  • Tol Chesko (Community Member)
  • Karen Sweazea, Nutrition and Health Promotion
  • Sarah Stabenfeldt, Biological and Health Systems Engineering
  • Brent Vernon, Biological and Health Systems Engineering
  • Dick George (Community Member)
  • Seth Nydam, Animal Care Technologies
  • Tsafrir Mor, Life Sciences

Alternate Members:

  • Rayna Gonzales, University of Arizona College of Medicine
  • Jonathan Gewirtz, Psychology
  • Pierre Deviche, Life Sciences
  • Jeffrey Kleim, Biological and Health Systems Engineering

Ex officio:

  • Matthew Hulver, Vice President of Research, Knowledge Enterprise (Institutional Official)