Home / Roster of Boards, Committees and Councils / Institutional Biosafety Committee

Institutional Biosafety Committee

Bertram Jacobs, Life Sciences and Biodesign

The committee is advisory to the senior vice president for the Office of Knowledge Enterprise Development (OKED) on policies and procedures relating to the use of infectious micro-organisms in research and teaching; the handling of infectious waste disposal; and the certification of university compliance with the National Institutes of Health "Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant or Synthetic Nucleic Acid Molecules" for all projects involving recombinant or synthetic nucleic acid molecules  and/or gene splicing techniques. The committee is responsible to the senior vice president for OKED and is appointed by the operations director of the Office of Knowledge Enterprise Development who serves as the institutional official.

  • Donna Pearcy, Risk and Emergency Management
  • David Gillum, Environmental Health & Safety
  • Hugh Mason, Life Sciences and Biodesign
  • Valerie Stout, Life Sciences
  • Mitch Magee, Biodesign
  • Christopher Plaisier, Biological and Health Systems Engineering

Off-campus members:

  • Alan Jensen (community member)
  • Lee Seabrooke, Phoenix Children's Research Institute (community member)

Alternate members:

  • Irene Mendoza, Environmental Health & Safety

Affiliated participants:

  • Benjamin Mitsuda, Office of General Counsel
  • Leon Igras, Environmental Health & Safety
  • Sarah Hurd-Rindy, Animal Care Technologies
  • Chantelle Shalley, Research Integrity & Assurance

 Ex officio:

  • Debra Murphy, Knowledge Enterprise Development (institutional official)