Home / Roster of Boards, Committees and Councils / Intellectual Property and Institutional Review Committee

Intellectual Property and Institutional Review Committee

Vincent Pizziconi, Biological and Health Systems Engineering

See Open Meetings policy

The Intellectual Property and Institutional Review Committee (IPIRC) is made up of faculty and staff representing the diversity of academic and research disciplines of the university.

IPIRC is charged with advising the senior vice president for Knowledge Enterprise Development on issues related to intellectual property management and reviewing conflict of interest disclosures related to research in which an investigator has disclosed significant financial interests that could affect the design, conduct, or reporting of his/her research and to recommend and implement management strategies designed to reduce, manage or eliminate perceived conflicts. The committee is responsible to the operations director of the Office of Knowledge Enterprise Development, who serves as the designated reviewer and institutional official.

  • Terry Alford, Engineering of Matter, Transport and Energy
  • Bin Gu, Information Systems (sabbatical)
  • Zhongju Zhang, Information Systems
  • Bertram Jacobs, Life Sciences and Biodesign
  • Konstantinos Tsakalis, Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering
  • Gary Marchant, Law
  • Pamela Marshall, Mathematics and Natural Sciences
  • Karen Marek, Nursing and Health Innovation
  • Philip White, Design
  • Thomas Sugar, Polytechnic
  • Rolf Halden, Sustainable Engineering and the Built Environment

Ex officio: 

  • Debra Murphy, Director, Knowledge Enterprise Deveopment Operations (institutional officer)
  • Augustine Cheng, Director, Skysong Innovations


  • Karen Liepmann, Associate General Counsel