Home / Roster of Boards, Committees and Councils / Student Media Advisory Board

Student Media Advisory Board

Adam Kress, Honeywell, Inc. (professional representative)

The role of the Student Media Advisory Board at Arizona State University is to select the student leaders responsible for editorial content within the university’s student run news organization, and assist and advise those student leaders, and the office of Educational Outreach and Student Services (EOSS) in overseeing the operations of Student Media.  The authority of the board is derived from a delegation of responsibility by the Office of the President. The board is overseen by the senior vice president for educational outreach and student services.

Members of the board include the dean of the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication or a representative, and the senior vice president for Educational Outreach and Student Services or a representative. Two journalism faculty members also serve on the board, as well as four professionals in journalism, media, or business.

Two students, not otherwise affiliated with Student Media, serve on the board (one graduate and one undergraduate).  Ex officio or non-voting members of the board include the State Press faculty advisor and the current State Press student leadership (executive editor, editor-in-chief, multimedia editor, and magazine editor).

  • Tom Blodgett, The Arizona Republic (faculty advisor, ex officio)
  • Kristin Gilger, School of Journalism & Mass Communication (dean's office representative)
  • Jessica Pucci, School of Journalism & Mass Communication (faculty member)
  • Jason Manning, Educational Outreach & Student Services (EOSS VP representative)
  • Jacqueline Petchel, School of Journalism & Mass Communication (faculty member)
  • Darren Urban, Arizona Cardinals (professional representative)
  • Nicole Tassinari, Kaplan College (professional representative)
  • Ryan Burch, Cybba, Inc (professional representative)

Student members:

  • Graduate student representative TBD
  • Undergraduate student representative TBD
  • Arren Kimbel-Sannit, Editor-in-Chief, Student Media (ex officio)
  • Ethan Millman, Executive Editor, Student Media (ex officio)
  • Stella Atzenweiler, Multimedia Editor (ex officio)
  • Parker Shea, Magazine Editor, Student Media (ex officio)