Out of focus image of three people talking


General Studies Council


Michael Mokwa - General Studies Council Chair

This is a decision-making council for the continuing implementation and development of the comprehensive University General Studies Program of courses required of all undergraduate students. The council, which is advisory to the university provost, prepares and maintains the general studies course listings published in the General Catalog and the semester Schedule of Classes for use by students, advisors and faculty. These publications contain general studies requirements and approved program courses. The council is appointed by and responsible to the university provost. The student member is appointed by the president on the recommendation of the vice president for university and student initiatives.

Go to General Studies page


American Institutions Subcommittee:

  • Ruby Arjona (CAA)
  • Susan Miller
  • Mark Ramirez - Chair
  • Brent Scholar

Global Communities, Societies and Individuals Subcommittee:

  • Annapurna Ganesh, MCCCD Representative
  • Susan Harmeling
  • Natalie Heywood - Chair
  • Greg Wise

Governance and Civic Engagement Subcommittee

  • Megan Foutz (CAA) - Chair
  • Tamara Rounds
  • Michelle Saint
  • Julia Thompson

Humanities, Arts and Design Subcommittee

  • William Hedberg
  • Catherine Saucier
  • Jessica Sturgess - Chair
  • Megan Todd

Mathematics and Quantitative Reasoning Subcommittee

  • Pierre Herckes
  • Elizabeth Kizer
  • Terri Kurz - Chair
  • Michelle Mancenido

Scientific Thinking in Natural Sciences Subcommittee

  • Michele Devine (ATCS)
  • Ashli Morgan - Chair
  • Steve Semken
  • Chao Wang

Social and Behavioral Sciences Subcommittee

  • Jen Eden
  • Emily Mertz
  • Michael Mokwa - Chair
  • Hyung Chol (Brandon) Yoo

Sustainability Subcommittee

  • Jada Ach
  • Evan Berry
  • Treavor Boyer
  • José Lobo - Chair

Community College representative(s):

  • Annapurna Ganesh, MCCCD Representative

Council of Academic Advisors Representative(s):

  • Ruby Arjona
  • Megan Foutz

Student member:

  • to be determined

Ex officio:

  • senate president