Home / Roster of Boards, Committees and Councils / University Graduate Council

University Graduate Council

Alfredo Artiles, Dean, Graduate College

It is the mission of the Dean of Graduate College to promote and support the integrity, quality, and vitality of ASU graduate programs including master's degrees, professional degrees, and doctoral degrees. Our goal is to ensure university-wide standards of quality, access, and equity in graduate programs and promote the interests of ASU's graduate students and graduate education within the state, national, and international arenas. Central to this vision is the enhancement of the diversity of ASU's graduate population as well as the development of a dynamic range of cutting-edge interdisciplinary graduate programs across the university.

Go to the University Graduate Council page


The University Graduate Council consists of faculty from each campus who review and make recommendations regarding the quality and nature of programs, policies, and standards related to graduate education. The council serves in an advisory capacity to the vice provost for graduate education. 

Academic Unit Members

NameCollegeTerm End
Tamiko AzumaCollege of Health SolutionsSpring 2019
Heather BatemanCollege of Integrative Sciences and ArtsSpring 2021
Thomas BlacksonCollege of Liberal Arts and SciencesSpring 2020
Adam ChodorowSandra Day O’Connor College of LawSpring 2020
Christopher HanlonNew College of Interdisciplinary Arts and SciencesSpring 2019
Katherine KennyCollege of Nursing and Health InnovationSpring 2021
Mirka Koro-LjungbergMary Lou Fulton Teachers CollegeSpring 2019
Kathryn MaxwellHerberger Institute for Design and the ArtsSpring 2020
Patrick PhelanIra A. Fulton Schools of EngineeringSpring 2020
Mary TeagardenThunderbird School of Global ManagementSpring 2019
Leslie ThorntonWalter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass CommunicationSpring 2020
Daniel SchugurenskyWatts College of Public Service and Community SolutionsSpring 2020
Benjamin ShaoW. P. Carey School of BusinessSpring 2019

Graduate student member

  • Stefanie Fuentes, Social and Family Dynamics

Ex officio members

  • Alfredo Artiles, Dean, Graduate College
  • Tamara Underiner, Associate Dean, Graduate College
  • Kim Naig, Executive Director of Graduate Enrollment Services, Graduate College
  • Corey Polka, Executive Assistant to the Dean, Graduate College